Skip to content

‘let me see your thighs jiggle’

October 12, 2010

A post inspired by my good friend Beckicklesie’s post on cellulite.

Cellulite by Aya de Leon.

Cellulite

Sell-you-light/that’s right
they try to sell you lite beer/lite cake/lite cookies/
pepsi lite/99% fat-free
but who’s trying to be fat-free?
certainly not me
let me see your thighs jiggle
they’re jiggling, baby
go `head, baby

This is a poem for the fat girls like me
Don’t tell me I’m not fat
That’s like saying I’m not Black
yes technically my skin is brown
but I say I’m Black because I’m
down with the Blackness
like I’m down with the fatness
because fat is health is life is fertility is womanly
let me see your belly jiggle
it’s jiggling, baby
go `head, baby

It’s the way women’s bodies are built — we jiggle
even really thin women jiggle a little
unless they work out to have a body of steel
but who wants to look like that? get real!
This poem is a thank you
to the big bodacious mujeres de Cuba
who taught me by example to know no shame/
show no shame
to the big body women of the West Indies
who know how to wind/wind/wind at
Carnival time/time/time
let me see your hips jiggle
they’re jiggling, baby
go `head, baby

a sick society
turns women’s bodies into problems to be solved
cuz anorexia ain’t sexier
& bulimia ain’t dreamier
Therefore next time you count calories, don’t forget
to count the thousands of years that women’s suitors
have thought that cellulite was quite all right & were
ready to embrace abundance

So next time you’re working out on your nordic trac
Don’t forget to savor the sensual feeling of sweat
sliding down the rolls in your back
& next time you’re working out in step aerobics class
don’t forget to enjoy the bounce of your ass
it’s jiggling, baby
go `head, baby

Special thanks to LLCoolJ for the sample
Cellulite has been an Off-the-Scale production

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 21:34

    Haha! You’re great. I need a word with you btw.

    After you’ve finished jingling your bits.

    Becca x

    Aside: Can you tell that Earwicga and I have agreed on this matter? 😉

  2. October 15, 2010 08:17

    Thank you! This is so great. And of course, the clip is brilliant ‘cos it tackles a serious subject with smarts and humour.
    I am getting increasingly worried about the way women are portrayed in a society that should be past sexist stereotype by now. And the way many women see themselves is even scaruer (actually, it makes me grateful for the fact that I have a son – harder work on some levels, but less complicated).
    I don’t care how much you label it as “empowerment”, something is seriously wrong when the female form as presented as only being worthy when it fits a specific mould, and smart, funny, intelligent women feel less than they should because they’re not ‘sexy’.
    There’s much more to us than that, isn’t there?

    • October 15, 2010 10:06

      Thanks Mandi – there most definately is more to us than that!

Leave a Reply

