Skip to content

Public Spectacle – 99 Ways

March 2, 2010

I love this video from Public Spectacle.  Lyrics below.  Public Spectacle are a great organisation and are also on Facebook which is where I found them.  They are in line for a grant from Pepsi – of course dependent on voting – please keep a lookout for the link on their FB page and vote!

The production of Public Spectacle’s song “99 Ways To Please a Man” is currently underway, in partnership with the DC-based Young Women’s Drumming Empowerment Project. This tool will present as a rap video that consists of a dialogue between young women that characterizes what IPV can look like, sound like, and feel like to be in. The song has been performed in a variety of settings, conferences and assemblies to illustrate how cultural norms about gender can systematically attack the self-esteem of women, leaving them more vulnerable to experiencing violence within intimate relationships. 

 

99 Ways

99 ways to please a man
i’ve got 99 ways to please a man
a million fish out in this sea
i’ve got to keep him wanting me
i’ll need 99 ways to please my man

with highlights streaking through my hair
got a Brazilian wax down there
–and painted fingers match my toes
still wish i had a smaller nose
but i’ve got 99 ways to please a man

99 ways to please a man

reading ways to boost our sex
i hope i’m better than his ex
she had 99 ways to please a man
were her tricks the same as mine?
–we’ve all bought in to this design
we got 99 ways to please a man

99 ways to please a man

i spend a paycheck on my clothes
all my credit cards are froze
–lord knows it’s hard for me to lease
and keep this plan
i’m buying 99 ways to please a man

99 ways to please a man
but if i’m showing too much skin
he says i’m flirting with his friends
–jealous- possessive, it depends: i defend my plan
using my 99 ways to please a man

–he’s got to keep you in his sight
it’s cuz i look so good tonight
i’ve got 99 ways to please a man

–you know they’re fraught with contradiction
he’s aroused, but with suspicion
and this deal that Cosmo’s pitchin’
— i think it’s a scam
selling me 99 ways to please a man

–cuz you can’t go out too much sexy
he says it’s only to protect me
from my 99 ways to please a man

–we’ve got 99 ways to please a man

we got 99 ways to keep our minds imprisoned
–we got 99 ways to hate the bodies we’ve been given
we got 99 ways to compete with other women
–second-guessing how we’re livin’
i think it’s a sham
–brought up with 99 ways to please a man

it began with soft seductions (repeat 5X)
now i’m scared of rage erupting, and it’s hard
for me to function
–he keeps the upper hand
and i keep 99 ways to please a man
–99 ways to please a man

i’ve got so many ways to please
–but they all keep you on your knees

if i’m too sexy i’m a skeeze
–these virgin-whore dichotomies got you caught in a
jam!
trying with 99 ways to please a man

now i’ve got nowhere to confide
he says he’s sorry and he cried
–but still he hit you right upside with an open hand
what of 99 ways to please a man?

–well, i would leave if i were you- (repeat 5X)
yeah, that’s just what i tried to do and now my arms
are black and blue from tryin to take a stand
–he’s got 99 ways to keep you- Damn!

He says he loves me more than life
and he can’t wait til i’m his wife
–too bad he held you with a knife and unleashed
his plan
i’ll need 99 ways to leave this man

–the way he treats you, it ain’t right
you know it’s not that black and white
–but it was more than just one fight

i’ve got to get home safe tonight

i need 99 ways to leave this man
don’t give me 99 ways to please a man

give me 99 ways to take a stand

–give me 99 ways to express who i am
give me 99 ways to get out of this jam
–give me 99 ways to write off this scam
give me 99 ways to fight off this man
–you know i’m doing all i can
but you have gotta understand
–i need 99 ways to leave this man

©Jaime Rothbard/Public Spectacle

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

