Skip to content

The Tories, they are a-coming. They’re at the threshold.

September 25, 2009

World Party – Ship of Fools

Lyrics under the fold

We’re setting sail to a place on the map
From which no-one has ever returned
Drawn by the promise of the joker and the fool
By the light of the crosses that burned
Drawn by the promise of the wormen and lace
And the gold and the cotton and pearls
It’s the place where they keep all the darkness you need
You sail away from the light of the world on this trip, baby

You will pay tomorrow
You’re gonna pay tomorrow
You will pay tomorrow

Oh, save me, save me from tomorrow
I don’t want to sail with this Ship of Fools, no, no
Oh, save me, save me from tomorrow
I don’t want to sail with this Ship of Fools
I want to run and hide
Right now

Avarice and greed are gonna drive you over the endless sea
They will leave you drifting in the shallows
Drowning in the oceans of history
Traveling the world, you’re in search of no good
But I’m sure you’ll build your Sodom like you knew you would
Using all the good people for your galley slaves
As your little boat struggles through the warning waves
But you don’t, pay

You will pay tomorrow
You’re gonna pay tomorrow
You’re gonna pay tomorrow

Oh, save me, save me from tomorrow
I don’t want to sail with this Ship of Fools, no, no
Oh, save me, save me from tomorrow
I don’t want to sail with this Ship of Fools, no, no

Where’s it coming from
Oh, Where’s it going now
It’s just a, it’s just a Ship of Fools

15 Comments leave one →
  1. polly styrene permalink
    September 25, 2009 22:42

    They’re coming to Manchester. Aaargghhhh! When I am at work I will be in CLOSE GEOGRAPHICAL PROXIMITY to David Cameron (who should never be less than 500 miles away from me minimum).

  2. September 25, 2009 22:44

    Polly, now is the time to do your duty – you’re our only chance!

  3. polly styrene permalink
    September 25, 2009 23:09

    Sadly there is security. Already. I doubt “Dave” will be doing a walkabout. Plus I am a known subversive: GMP already have several hours of videotape of me, on various ‘actions’.

  4. polly styrene permalink
    September 25, 2009 23:10

    Anyway it will be like the eighties which was grim, but there was some good music (and some very, very crap music as well, I admit).

  5. September 25, 2009 23:14

    I will never ever again wear a puffball skirt, crimp my hair or dance to Mel & Kim though! 🙂

  6. September 26, 2009 00:15

    I have the album, on vinyl!

  7. September 26, 2009 01:01

    World Party!

  8. polly styrene permalink
    September 26, 2009 10:08

    But DM’s and check shirts, which were both fashionable in the eighties are back. Cheer up E it will be like being young again.

  9. September 26, 2009 15:46

    Yeah I guess, and I wouldn’t have to be young – good point!

  10. polly styrene permalink
    September 26, 2009 18:45

    On the other hand so are those dire jackets with the sleeves rolled up, and huge shoulder pads – blech….

  11. September 26, 2009 19:18

    D’you think they’ll bring back Dynasty? Feeling a little hopeful now 🙂

  12. September 26, 2009 19:24

    Anyway, what’s wrong with shoulder pads like these? http://www.fashionising.com/pictures/b–Alexandre-Herchcovitch-SpringSummer-2010-NYFW-2143.html

  13. polly styrene permalink
    September 26, 2009 23:04

    Nothing as long as you don’t want to walk through any doorways. Re dynasty….

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2009/sep/26/jess-cartner-morley-dynasty

    Everybody’s fantasy of what it would be like to be rich? My fantasy of what it would be like to be rich would be lying around on a beach ingesting the odd mind altering substance and then fitting in a bit of surfing maybe. But not in clothes like that.

    • September 28, 2009 02:01

      You wouldn’t want to ruin those beautiful clothes with sand and surf! 🙂

Leave a Reply

