Skip to content

Patrick Swayze RIP

September 15, 2009

LOS ANGELES Patrick Swayze, the hunky actor who danced his way into viewers’ hearts with “Dirty Dancing” and then broke them with “Ghost,” died Monday after a battle with pancreatic cancer. He was 57.

swayze

Two of my favourite films are Dirty Dancing and The Outsiders which both star Swayze.  As a teenager I watched these films many times, giving me many hours of pleasure – much needed being the miserable teenager I was.  But, I first fell for Swayze in the wonderful guise of Orry Main  in the mini-series North and South,  See here for a fan-site, which I have only just found tonight, honest!  And while I am in denial mode I never owned this either.

 

Peter Bradshaw of the The Guardian writes an obituary, describing Swayze as having rugged, unpretty looks.  I don’t think so!  There will be other better obits elsewhere, that’s for sure.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 08:56

    Bloody hell. I remembered him from North and South as well. All morning on the TV news no one else has mentioned that. Congratulations!

    Though steady on girl, you are taking this blog to levels the rest of the blogsphere can’t attain. Everyone else will give up and you will have total bloggger domination.

    There can be only one!

  2. September 15, 2009 09:25

    Oh, I do hope not as I spend way too much time reading other blogs! You’ve reminded me why I don’t watch morning tv 🙂

    Not a bad obit in the NYT http://www.nytimes.com/2009/09/15/movies/15swayze.html?hp

  3. September 15, 2009 10:41

    Well, I don’t hold any store in astrology, but, it is nice to be a fellow Leo.

Leave a Reply

