Skip to content

Circles

August 23, 2009

I watched Anthony Minghella’s Breaking and Entering tonight, and thought it rather wonderful.

I was struck with the line Jude Law delivers to his partner about her relationship with her daughter regarding family dynamics:

 I don’t know how to be honest.  Maybe that’s why I like metaphors.  Because, what I want to say is that there’s a circle, yours and Bea’s and I’m not in it.  But that’s just to justify, because there’s a part of me so dark that sees that circle as a cage.

Is that how men see families – how they see children, either their biological offspring, or those they take on with a new partner?  I find this profoundly depressing and depressingly true.

breaking_and_entering_jude_law

4 Comments leave one →
  1. rhondda permalink
    August 26, 2009 20:31

    I was left confused by this movie, until I watched the deleted scenes on the DVD. The guy is a cad and a flirt which the deleted scenes show. The wife is very depressed and we are not given any reason why except that she came from a sunless country. Why is it that women always have to save the men? The depressed wife comes to the rescue. Both women are very concerned for their kids, yet this dynamic is not explored at all. Yet the superficial Mr. nice guy is portrayed as never having ever to make a moral decision before in his life and of course he is so grateful that his wife comes through and makes the decision for him. I was left with the feeling why on earth would she let such a degenerate back in her life. Even the sex did not look that good. Oh of course a man wrote this movie. And the prostitute with the heart of gold who could not get money out of him returns the car. WTF Good grief. Sorry to disagree with you, but I do agree it leaves one depressed.

  2. August 27, 2009 20:41

    I agree with everything you say – but I still thought it was a good film. The performances were wonderful.

    I have yet to watch the extras.

  3. rhondda permalink
    August 27, 2009 23:13

    Yes, the acting was very good. I was impressed by the two women the most. The scene near the end when their eyes met, was very good. They both knew it was about the kids, not him. I don’t think he got it.

  4. August 29, 2009 13:19

    Well, he was only really in it for himself. His actions were to assuage his guilt.

    I think that the depression was just depression – there doesn’t have to be a reason – sometimes it just is. Obviously having a troubled child, and having had to give up work, and a dysfunctional partner didn’t help!

    For me, the film was really about the extent to which women will go for their children – I said to the man I was watching the film with that the Juliette Binoche character was sleeping with him to protect her son – and hey presto the camera came out. My companion was astounded and asked once again had I seen the film? 🙂 I think Anthony Minghella got that. Not sure what the prostitute story was about though – other than a foil for Jude Law’s character?!?

Leave a Reply

