Skip to content

Beslan, Five Years On

August 9, 2009

Last week while reading reports of the gym shootings in Pensylvania where three women were murdered, I thought of the massacare in Belsan School Number One. 

In Beslan, five years ago this September, 333 people, including 186 children, were murdered during a three day siege by three dozen Chechynan terrorists, most of whom died when the gym was blown up. Many more were seriously hurt and permanently disabled physically and mentally.

I clearly remember the horror of watching on my tv screen what was happening in this school in Beslan , but have managed to forget the details in the intervening time. Mark Franchetti of the Times, writes today about The Aftermath of the Belson School Massacare.

I found this account to be a painful read, not only because of it’s subject matter which is distressing, but also because of the way that the Russian authorities have reacted, or basically not reacted to what happened.

Since then [September 2009] the town’s residents have not only had to cope with their loss but with other distorting aftershocks: anger over how some of that money was spent; distrust of the authorities who failed to protect the town and uncertainty about the future for survivors. Five years on, are there any signs Beslan will recover from its unimaginable grief or that anyone will be held to account for what happened?

Click here to read the whole article.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. rhondda permalink
    August 9, 2009 23:44

    This may be very unfair, but after reading this, the so-called coercion that has generated a fight among feminist is so fucking trivial, I just want to scream.

  2. August 9, 2009 23:53

    I know what you mean, but out of division usually comes some sort of understanding. I’m not one to let things slide ever, unfornuately as it makes life hard, so I can kinda see what was happening, even though I came into the fray rather late.

    There seems to be no understanding in Beslan though as half the killers escaped and nobody has been held accountable.

  3. rhondda permalink
    August 10, 2009 00:26

    Yes, I agree. As a mother myself, I just cannot imagine the pain both for mothers and children over there and fathers. The father weeping was very poignant too. It boggles me. I am so lucky to live where I do. I think that is what pisses me off so much with American Feminism. Yeah, they are so oppressed. Give me a break. However, I must say that attitude is here too. I think it is disassociation. This is where Dim ots comes in comes in for me or I would be crying all the time. what does keep me going is that I was a social worker and I saw the amazing resilience of kids and mothers.

  4. August 10, 2009 01:16

    Dim ots to American Feminism 🙂 Given a bit of support when needed, women can survive just about anything. Lucky that, as we need to!

  5. August 10, 2009 02:01

    Although, I can’t imagine losing my children and surviving after.

Leave a Reply

