Skip to content

Call me a Woman – Nancy R. Smith

July 30, 2009

Call Me a Woman
By Nancy R. Smith, copyright 1976
About this poem: This poem was written during the 1970’s Women’s Movement. The last thing a woman wanted (or wants) to be called is a “girl.” See also For Every Woman.

I am twenty-five And when I am called a girl I speak like a girl: I flirt and giggle and play dumb. But when I remember I am a woman, I put away childish things And speak out, and share, and love.
I am thirty-six And when I am called a girl I think like a girl; I feel incompetent So I serve and help the men around me. But when I remember I am a woman, I put away childish things And work and create and achieve.

I am fifty-two And when I am called a girl I understand like a girl; I let others protect me from the world. But when I remember I am a woman, I put away childish things And decide, and risk, and live my own life.

Copyright © 1976 Nancy R. Smith 154C Shore Drive Peabody, MA 01960 webmaster@workplacespirituality.info (mailto:webmaster@workplacespirituality.info )

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

