Skip to content

Care Bears On Fire

August 9, 2009

More on YouTube and MySpace with a cover of Everybody Wants to Rule the World :)

H/T to f-bomb

And after listening to Care Bears on Fire I feel a real longing for Joan Jett, so here she is!

Hello Daddy, I’m your Im your ch ch ch ch ch cherry bomb!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. rhondda permalink
    August 9, 2009 23:20

    Hey Earwicga. I am the dim ots person from Polly’ blog. I love both these songs. Thanks.
    I am a Canadian and I so see a difference between American feminism and British feminism that it so blows my mind. Canadian feminism is pretty low key. It just keeps moving along quietly and persistently. Not the dramatics of the Americans, nor the overt
    social consciousness of the British ones I have encountered. Americans are so ‘me, me’, but that is my perception. They so need their grand narrative.
    Bye the way, what does your name signify, if I may ask?
    Rhondda (Yes I was named after the Welsh hymn Cum Rhondda, the words of which I have completely rewritten to my own satisfaction)

  2. August 9, 2009 23:32

    Hiya, nice to see you here! Yes indeed, lots of grand narratives is a great summation.

    You may, and my name is the consequence of an email conversation and some googling that initially started with labia I believe and ended up with earwicga. Bit random.

    I’ve found the original Cwm Rhondda hymn on google, and apparently it is Wales’ unofficial National Anthem! How does the re-write go?

  3. rhondda permalink
    August 10, 2009 00:06

    Well, here in Canada the beginning is Guide me now oh great Jehovah, which I changed to Guide me now oh loving Goddess pilgrim to this abundant land instead of barren land. I can’t find my book right now, but I changed everything into praise of the earth instead of that alienation which is the the christian version.
    I think maybe the tune in Wales may have a different meaning than the words imposed upon it. The tune is very powerful. Who knows?

  4. polly permalink
    August 10, 2009 21:07

    Well I wasn’t that struck by the music, but I luuurve the name.

    Joan Jett, yeah baby……

  5. August 10, 2009 21:11

    Me and YouTube ended up having a Joan Jett fest last night – had never actually seen her ‘for real’ before – only on a LP cover I have :)

  6. polly permalink
    August 10, 2009 22:28

  7. August 10, 2009 22:34

    Ta! I’ve always wanted to get up on a bar and dance. Did it once on tables at uni at an excuse for a beer festival and they all collapsed :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.